top of page

One week in...

I wish I could say that I feel like a million bucks heading into week two of my 30-day herbal antibiotic protocol. But I can't. I feel crummy and tired and I'm sick of chicken soup.

I thought a little dark chocolate would be a legal cheat. I was wrong. Ditto for organic sheep milk yogurt with maple syrup. Hello pain and bloating.

Don't Cheat! You'll only be cheating yourself. (See Valentine's Day post for reference.)

Last night I spent a couple of hours online, surfing around for food ideas to break up the monotony of chicken. True, I make a delicious chicken soup, and a mean roasted chicken, too. But I want something else already!

I was really excited to find an actual SIBO-specific diet site, maybe the first ever of its kind. It's called SIBO Diet Recipes and is written by a smart, beautiful naturopathic student named Samantha B. Johnson who studied with Dr. Allison Siebecker and has dealt with SIBO herself. I'm looking forward to trying some of her recipes and maybe even contributing some of my own to her site. (She posted an invitation to do so—sweet!)

I also found some recipe inspiration over on the GAPS community sites and realized I could make Oven-Baked Butternut Squash Fries—oh, yeah. That sounds good.

So does the thought of a very simple GAPS pancake, which you make by mashing cooked squash together with almond butter and eggs, plus cinnamon and salt. Weird, right? I've never tried them, but I'm desperate. If they work out, you'll see pictures here!

Meanwhile, it's morning and I have to take my pills. My goal for today is to be kind to myself, even though I feel bad. Maybe pancakes will help.

Tags:

join us

 for the 

PARTY

Recipe Exchange @ 9pm!

Destination: health.

Diana Allen, MS, CNS
Clinical nutritionist. Holistic health educator. Calm belly warrior.

SIBO is no joke, but laughter is the best medicine. So keep smiling and take back your gut! Healthy flora is a beautiful thing.

Read More About me
Be happy!
Follow Me
  • Facebook Basic Black
bottom of page